KFOR Wins Crystal Award

KFOR (103.3 FM/1240 AM) Tuesday was awarded the National Association of Broadcasters’ Crystal Radio Award. Since 1987, the NAB Crystal Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

Ten recipients were chosen from among 15,500 radio stations across the U.S. All were honored at tuesday’s “We Are Broadcasters Celebration in Las Vegas.”

The ten winners named Tuesday include:

KFOR-AM Lincoln, Neb. WHKO-FM Dayton, Ohio
KGSR-FM Austin, Texas WINS-AM New York City, N.Y.
KTAR-FM Phoenix, Ariz. WSOY-AM Decatur, Ill.
KTTS-FM Springfield, Mo. WTMX-FM Chicago, Ill.
KXLG-FM Chicago, Ill. WWJ-AM Detroit, Mich.

Randi P’Pool (center), VP of Marketing for Alpha Media, accepts the Crystal Award on behalf of KFOR
The NAB Crystal Radio Award finalists were chosen by a panel of judges representing broadcasting, community service organizations and public relations firms. Finalists were honored and winners announced at today’s We Are Broadcasters Celebration, where Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai delivered remarks about local radio and television stations’ vital role in communities and ongoing commitment to innovation that enables broadcasters to better serve listeners and viewers. Also at the event, five-time NAB Crystal Award receipient WTOP-FM was honored with the NAB Crystal Heritage Award.

Today’s Crystal Award is KFOR’s fifth since the awards were founded in 1987. They were also captured by KFOR in 2011, 2008, 2004, and 1991.

KFOR is one of six radio stations in Lincoln owned by Portland, Oregon based Alpha Media.



Discarded Cigarette Causes $500K in Damage to Lincoln Home Governor Orders Flags at Half-Staff for Memorial Day Nebraska Power Utility Urges Caution Over Zebra Mussels You Can’t Buy One Of These AG Seeks July Execution Date For Carey Dean Moore NSP: Fentanyl Seizure Keeps Killer Drug Off Streets