Lawmakers Reject Push For Public Vote On Committee Leaders

Nebraska State Capitol (Jeff Motz/KFOR News)

Nebraska lawmakers have once again rejected a push to elect all legislative committee leaders in a publicly recorded vote.

Lawmakers on Wednesday voted 25-22 against a proposed legislative rule that would have changed the current practice of choosing leaders by a secret ballot.

Sen. Mike Groene, of North Platte, says he introduced the measure because it promotes transparency. Groene argues that the secret vote runs afoul of the state constitution.

Opponents say making the votes public would increase outside partisan pressure in the officially nonpartisan Legislature. The Legislature is dominated by registered Republicans, but Democrats have still been able to win some chairmanships in recent years.

Conservative state senators have raised the issue several times in recent years to force a vote that shows where all state lawmakers stand.



Statement Regarding Incident Involving KFRX Personality Matt McKay Lincoln Car Dealer Identified As Victim In Deadly Otoe County Crash North Carolina Man Arrested After Trying To Meet Lincoln Teen Man Accused of Child Abuse, Animal Cruelty Woman Threatens Neighbors With Knife NSP Finds Over 360 Pounds of Pot During Weekend Traffic Stop