Fourteen new Nebraska State Troopers received their badges and were sworn-in during a ceremony this morning at the Nebraska State Capitol. The new troopers represent the 60th Basic Recruit Class in Nebraska State Patrol history.

“Yesterday, Nebraska lost a dedicated and heroic public servant, Trooper Jerry Smith,” said Colonel John Bolduc, Superintendent of the Nebraska State Patrol. “Through that tragedy, we look upon these 14 new troopers starting their careers and truly understand what it means to serve. Their steadfast drive to earn the badge is a testament to the unwavering service they will provide Nebraska.”

At the outset of the ceremony, Colonel Bolduc asked those in attendance to observe a moment of silence to honor the life and service of Trooper Smith, #373.

Governor Pete Ricketts, Attorney General Doug Peterson, and Colonel John Bolduc provided remarks during the ceremony. General Peterson administered the Oath of Office.

The 14 member class of Camp 60 completed 22 weeks of training at the Nebraska State Patrol Training Academy in Grand Island. The extensive training includes hands-on experience as well as more than 1,000 hours of academic instruction. The recruits took dozens of exams, both written and practical, throughout the training camp. All 14 new troopers will begin their career in the NSP Patrol Division or Carrier Enforcement Division, stationed from border to border throughout Nebraska.

Recruit Seth Howard received the Superintendent’s Leadership Award as well as the Captain Mark Williams Core Values Award. Recruit Elliot Schmit was honored with the O. H. Witt Academic Award and the also received the D. R. Shearer Marksmanship Award. Recruit Cole Gibbins was presented the R. J. Buchholz Physical Fitness Award.

The newly-badged troopers will now undergo six months of on-the-job instruction with veteran troopers in the field. The members of the 60th Recruit Class are listed below, along with their hometowns and new duty assignments.

Name Hometown Badge Duty Station Assignment
Curtis Anderson Lincoln, NE 89 Geneva Troop H
Albert Brooks Kearney, NE 120 McCook Troop D
Cole Gibbins Kearney, NE 130 Sidney Troop E
Jordan Girardi Council Bluffs, IA 135 Grand Island Troop C
Seth Howard Lincoln, NE 155 Lincoln Troop H
Kristen McCrea Brookings, SD 162 South Sioux City Troop B
Seth Olson Kearney, NE 175 North Platte Carrier
Matthew Richardson Council Bluffs, IA 206 Aurora Troop C
Elliot Schmit Omaha, NE 115 Omaha Troop A
Michael Schmitt Elkhorn, NE 331 Valentine Troop D
Nathan Schulz Fort Calhoun, NE 240 Ogallala Troop D
Brandon Smith McCook, NE 346 Sidney Troop E
Cameron TenEyck Omaha, NE 290 Fremont Carrier
Dakota Wilson Omaha, NE 391 Nebraska City Carrier


Courtesy of the Nebraska State Patrol


READ MORE: Funeral Set For Trooper Jerry Smith